Thursday, August 13, 2009

Why do you CrossFit?

Saw this on CrossFit Boston......

So, this sh#t is hard. Right? I mean there are times where I wonder, 'Why do I do this to myself?'. I participated in competitive athletics for more than 10 years. That was hard, why do it now as I am in my 30's and heading for my imminent "mid-life" crisis. I can just go to the globo gym and read my paper while I ride a recumbent bike.
Simple answer, NO. The reason is fear. I train CrossFit because I am afraid of what a life of mediocrity could look like. I am afraid of what the future could hold for me if I were to stop increasing my work capacity. I am afraid to someday be like my Father who is physically a quarter of the man I remember growing up. Or my Mother that lives life in pain and unable to enjoy the outdoors. So yes, I am driven by fear. I still get butterflies in my stomach before EVERY benchmark. I am not kidding. Ask Rast how long I pranced around the gym like some sissy, had a date with FRAN, before he finally started the clock on me and said you got 30 seconds. It's hard, real hard. But, I am more afraid of what happens if I stop!
So, that's my twist on this crazy little thing we have going on here at CFB. Why do you CrossFit?

No comments:

Post a Comment